TITLE 10 The role of Armed Forces in the United States Code

Estimated reading: 2 minutes 47 views Contributors

Title 10: the role of armed forces

Title 10 of the United States Code

Outlines the role of armed forces in the United States Code. It provides the legal basis for the roles, missions and organization of each of the services as well as the United States Department of Defense. Each of the five subtitles deals with a separate aspect or component of the armed services.

  • Subtitle A—General Military Law, including Uniform Code of Military Justice
  • Subtitle B—Army
  • Subtitle C—Navy and Marine Corps
  • Subtitle D—Air Force and Space Force
  • Subtitle E—Reserve Components

The current Title 10 was the result of an overhaul and renumbering of the former Title 10 and Title 34 into one title by an act of Congress on August 10, 1956.

Title 32 outlines the related but different legal basis for the roles, missions and organization of the United States National Guard in the United States Code.

More Detail Here

National Guard Fact Sheet Army National Guard

(FY2005) {posted on 3 May 2006}


The Army National Guard (ARNG) is one of the seven reserve components of the United States armed forces. It is also the organized militia of 54 separate entities: the 50 states, the territories of Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia. Administered by the National Guard Bureau (a joint bureau of the departments of the Army and Air Force), the ARNG has both a federal and state mission. The dual mission, a provision of the U.S. Constitution and the U.S. Code of laws, results in each Soldier holding membership in both the National Guard of his or her state and in the U.S. Army or the U.S. Air Force. Full Paper View Here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share this Doc
Powered by TranslatePress »